Reverse Mentoring

I had the most eye opening experience this year working with the younger people in my organization. I read an article in the St. Louis Post Dispatch called ” Young People teach supervisors a thing or two.” Reverse mentoring has been the most significant tool I have used in quite some time. I didn’t use the exercise to hear complaints, instead I was able to hear; what is really important to the younger workers? They told me about their passions, needs and future expectations at work and away. When you hear directly from the group putting parts into boxes, it helps you change directions quickly. With an aging workforce retiring and the younger generation ready to jump on the line, it is important to understand what will keep them productive, enthusiastic and wanting to contribute. It’s even more important just listening to them and letting them know you care.

Leave a Reply

